Australian Public Holidays you should plan for in 2016

by Deb Morrison / Pet Owner Advice / 14 Aug 2016

Australian Public Holidays

Australia celebrates a number of public holidays throughout the year when banks, offices and some shops are closed. If you are planning to travel to Australia during these peak periods it's wise to book interstate flights, tours and accommodation well in advance, to avoid missing out.

Our National Public Holidays are New Year's Day, Australia Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Anzac Day, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

2016

National Public Holidays 
Friday 1 January: New Year's Day
Tuesday 26 January: Australia Day
Friday 25 March: Good Friday
Saturday 26 March: Easter Saturday
Monday 28 March: Easter Monday
Monday 25 April: Anzac Day
Sunday 25 December: Christmas Day
Monday 26 December: Boxing Day
Tuesday 27 December*: Additional Day 

*Additional public holiday as Christmas Day falls on a weekend.

Other public holidays declared by the state and territory governments

Australian Capital Territory
Monday 14 March: Canberra Day
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday
Monday 26 September: Family and Community Day
Monday 3 October: Labour Day

New South Wales
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday
Monday 3 October: Labour Day

Northern Territory
Monday 2 May: May Day
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday
Friday 30 June*: Borroloola Show Day 
Friday 1 July*: Alice Springs Show Day 
Friday 8 July*: Tennant Creek Show Day 
Friday 15 July*: Katherine Show Day 
Friday 22 July*: Darwin Show Day 
Monday 1 August: Picnic Day

*Regional observance only.

Queensland
Monday 2 May: Labour Day
Wednesday 10 August*: Royal Queensland Show 
Monday 3 October: Queen's Birthday

*Brisbane only.

South Australia
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday
Monday 3 October: Labour Day
Saturday 24 December*: Christmas Eve
Saturday 31 December*: New Year's Eve

*Part-day public holiday from 7pm to midnight.

Tasmania
Monday 8 February*: Royal Hobart Regatta
Monday 14 March: Eight Hours Day
Tuesday 29 March*: Easter Tuesday
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday

*Restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service.

Victoria
Monday 14 March: Labour Day
Monday 13 June: Queen's Birthday
Friday 30 September: Friday before the AFL Grand Final
Tuesday 1 November: Melbourne Cup Day

Western Australia 
Monday 7 March: Labour Day
Monday 6 June: Western Australia Day
Monday 26 September*: Queen's Birthday

* Regional areas in Western Australia may celebrate the Queen's Birthday Public Holiday on an alternative date.

Tags:
Share: